The Musings of an Insomniac

I occasionally battle insomnia and some time ago I found myself lying in bed, staring at the indigo blue background of the alarm clock and wishing desperately that I could get to sleep. I have come to rather piously believe that these are times that God has given me to pray or meditate on his Word. My wife is convinced that they are the result of a late afternoon Starbucks Venti Extra-Bold. I prefer my explanation to hers.

On this particular night, I began to think about very practical ways that I could remind myself of how I was supposed to live as a Christian throughout the day. Then I thought about how I could help others do the same. I find that even when we are having our daily devotions and prayer times, the relentless pressures of daily life sometimes turn our minds far from spiritual matters. As someone once quipped, “The problem with daily life is that it is so daily.” What if there were some simple words we could memorize and then attach some appropriate verses so that we would be constantly reminded of who we are in Christ and what it means to live as “strangers and aliens” (1 Peter 2:11) in this world. I wanted to keep the list manageable and finally decided on what I thought were 10 key words for Christian living. Here is my list:

  1. Faith
  2. Righteousness
  3. Purity
  4. Holiness
  5. Courage
  6. Integrity
  7. Love
  8. Diligence
  9. Joy
  10. Obedience

These words are in no particular order, but I believe each is an essential element of Christian living. Some of these words are intended to include other concepts, but a list of ten words ought to be easily memorized by anyone. I am curious what you think. Is there something I have missed? Would you change any of these? I hope to post on each one in the upcoming weeks and would be interested to hear your thoughts.

3 thoughts on “The Musings of an Insomniac

  1. The Squirrel Sniper says:

    (Sorry thought I put this on the wrong section)

    Great Blog! Here is my 2cents. I would add Humility and Fear. It is hard to really take any of the other categories away because each word has meaning that is so different from another, yet they are so close they are hard to distinguish sometimes with words.

    Your explanation of faith was helpful. Pipers definition taken to heart makes me take a second glance at how I live my own life by faith. I praise God that it is a faith that is given (Eph 2:8), or I would be beyond despair at the thought of mustering up and sustaining the faith needed for salvation in light of my fallen state.

    Pipers definition was an expansion, I believe, of what is spelled out concerning Christ in the Baptist catechism:

    Q. What is faith in Jesus Christ?
    A. Faith in Jesus Christ is a saving grace (Heb. 10:39), whereby we receive and rest upon him alone for salvation, as he is offered to us in the gospel (Jn. 1:12; Is. 26:3, 4; Ph. 3:9; Gal. 2:16)

    Those two words: receive, and rest. I think does justice to the scriptural intent and definition of faith. Piper names “rest” specifically at the end of his definition.

  2. Todd Crosby says:

    Hi Brennan,
    I love the pictures of Josiah on your blog! Thanks for the input here. I think you are right about humility. thanks for ruining my nice round number. 11 Key Words just doesn’t have a nice ring to it.

  3. Kevin says:

    Always nice to find a fellow Reformed minister who suffers from insomnia. I’ll link to you, if you don;t mind. It’s always good to know what my Baptist brethren are up to.

Leave a Reply

