Valentines Day

I have long theorized that Valentines Day is the product of a late-night, behind closed doors meeting between the Most High Muckety-Mucks of the greeting card, floral and candy industries. I just heard on the news this morning that the average American spends nearly $125.00 on Valentines Day. That is a serious economic shot in the arm for these folks. I haven’t spent that much on this day, largely because I don’t have an extra $125 lying around. But if the intent of the day is to honor my wife, then I am pleased to do so.

I am preaching through Genesis on Sunday mornings at our church (let me insert a shameless plug and direct your attention to our website on the left). In the first and second chapter we see that God in his infinite wisdom has woven certain institutions into the very fabric of creation. One of those institutions is marriage. God has blessed us with perfect companions that would not only accompany us, but help us through life.

If you look at my profile at the top of this page you see that I began by explaining that I am the husband of Teresa. There is good reason for this because second only to my relationship with Jesus Christ, this is the most important relationship in my life. I look back at times and am simply astounded at God’s wisdom in giving me this incredible woman. I do not believe that any person can complete or ultimately fulfill another, but my wife comes close. She makes up for my failures and weaknesses in such a way that I simply would not be where I am without her. I am a better man than I would otherwise be for having Teresa as a wife. I truly cannot understand those who say they grow tired or bored with their mate and look for a way out of the relationship. Our lives together, with its ups and downs, have only served to bind my heart to hers more closely, if that is possible. I can say with all honesty that there is no person on this earth that I would rather spend time with than my wife.

We had a little Valentines fellowship at church last night, and answering questions about our marriage, though intended to be humorous, reminded me of what a blessing it is to know and be known by such a special woman as Teresa. When God placed us together I feel certain that his intent was to give me encouragement and her patience. Her heavenly rewards will be greater for having to put up with me for all of our years together, but I feel that I truly know what it means to have a God-given helpmate to accompany me in life, parenthood and ministry. So today I want to honor the most beautiful, loving, capable woman I know and declare my undying affection to my wife Teresa.

Men, let’s stop for just a moment and think about the blessings that our wives are to us. Go beyond the momentary honor of flowers, cards, jewelry or candy and thank God daily for the woman he has given you. Make sure that we, as Christians, reflect in our marriages the kind of love that Christ has for His church.

Soli Deo Gloria

Leave a Reply

