Top 5 Books on Preaching

I am frequently asked to recommend books on certain subjects (usually preaching, theology or commentaries).  I always find it a bit difficult to narrow things down at the spur of the moment so I thought it might be helpful to list my top five in certain subjects.  Since one of the largest sections in my library is preaching books, it will be difficult to limit it to five so don’t be surprised if I sneak in one or two more!  Here are my top five on preaching (though not in a particular order), but I would be interested to hear your thoughts as well.

1. Preaching and Preachers by Martin Lloyd Jones – This book is the first book on preaching that I ever read and was incredibly influential on my ministry.  A must-read for all who preach.

2. Christ Centered Preaching: Redeeming the Expository Sermon by Bryan Chapell – In my humble opinion, the finest book on sermon preparation available.  A close second would be  Haddon Robinson’s classic, Biblical Preaching: The Development and Delivery of Expository Messages.

3. The Supremacy of God in Preaching by John Piper – This is another ministry-shaping volume and it literally drips with a passion for God’s glory, as do all things Piper.

4. The Power of Speaking God’s Word by Wilbur Ellsworth – Many have never heard of this little volume but it deserves a place in each preacher’s library.  Ellsworth reminds us that preaching is primarily an oral event and that the work of preparation is not done when the manuscript is finished.  I have gone back to this little book several times over the years.

5. Preaching the Whole Bible as Christian Scripture: The Application of Biblical Theology to Expository Preaching by Graeme Goldsworthy – The title pretty much sums it up, but it reminds us that all of Scripture is about Christ.  Most Christians would not know this given the dearth of Old Testament preaching from our pulpits.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Books on Preaching

  1. Kenny Wells says:

    I agree with the top three you listed, and I would put them in that order as well. Number 4 is a new one to me, and I purchased number 5 at Southern’s bookstore during the convention…I miss that place!

    Where would you rank Between Two Worlds by John Stott? Would it make it into a top 10 list? I’ve never read it, but comes highly recommended by people I respect, often mentioned in conjunction with Lloyd-Jones’ Preaching and Preachers Robinson’s Biblical Preaching.

  2. Steven M. says:

    I’d be interested in borrowing #5 if you don’t mind/have it handy.

Leave a Reply

