The Importance of Praying Scripture

For a little over a year now we have endeavored to spend our Wednesday night services at Parkwood focusing more on prayer than the obligatory Wednesday night Bible study. For several weeks now I have tried to focus our prayer time on Scripture itself. We can always be certain that we are praying according to God’s will if we are (rightly) praying Scripture.
Randy McKinion has a helpful post on praying scripture using Daniel 9 as a model (ever heard that one before Parkwood). Please take a moment to read this post and for those of you from Parkwood, I would love to hear how you think we are doing here. Be candid; I can handle it!

One thought on “The Importance of Praying Scripture

  1. Brennan says:

    I agree with the post in that when you listen to someone pray who knows scripture, it holds power in every word. When we pray superficially about daily things (aka ultimately selfcentered and pride driven) they lack that power. I can’t speak for others at parkwood but I can say that I see a strong wind of change in the hearts of the people at parkwood concerning prayer…now on to memorizing scripture. (the area I struggle most!) Then we can take that “next step”. I’m all in….

Leave a Reply

