Questions on Pastoral Ministry – Readiness for Ministry

I recently asked some men at church if they had any questions I could answer about preaching or pastoral ministry in the form of a blog post. the following is a question from Steven Menteer.

“Was there a moment when you felt “ready” for the awesome task of shepherding God’s people?”

My short answer to that question is no. Even now I am almost daily reminded of my insufficiency, and some ministry situations make me feel downright incompetent. Looking back on it now, I don’t think I really began to be “ready” until after my first decade of ministry.
I think it is important to remember that we will never be truly ready for ministry but God always seems to provide what we need at just the right time. It seems to me that there are two dangers we need to avoid when it comes to assessing our readiness for ministry. We can be arrogantly self assured of our own abilities or we can be paralyzed by our inability, forgetting that the God who calls us will equip us. Preparation, gifts and calling are essential,but no amount of preparation will ever make us truly ready to shepherd Christ’s church.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

